In Louisiana, you may hear about a criminal charge called domestic abuse battery. According to the Louisiana State Legislature, this would be when you commit a physical assault upon another member of your household or family. In terms of this law, a household member is someone of the opposite sex or a child with whom you live. Family members include spouses, children or parents. This crime is categorized as domestic abuse.
If you are convicted of this crime, you will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail and $300 fine. However, you could face up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1000. The penalties for this crime get more severe each time you are convicted. Once you have been convicted at least four times, you face a minimum of ten years and a $5000 fine. Other possible sentencing requirements include mandatory attendance of a domestic abuse intervention program, community service and a loss of rights to own a firearm.
There are certain circumstances where penalties may be even stiffer depending on the situation. For example, if it involves strangulation, there is an increase in the amount of jail time you may face. Other scenarios that could increase minimum punishments or carry a harsher sentence include if the victim is pregnant or burned in the course of the crime. Also, if a child is present at the time of the crime, it could also increase the penalties. This information is only intended to educate and should not be interpreted as legal advice.